Sew Mama Sew giveaway! and remembering.

Sew Mama Sew readers, welcome to the Schoolhouse Patterns blog. I’m Cindy, the owner & designer. I hope you’re having fun entering giveaways. Keep reading to find out about mine.

Like a giveaway? Today is your day. Sew Mama Sew, a blog devoted to sewing, is hosting it’s biannual giveaway. In their post today, you’ll find links to giveaways on hundreds of blogs of all kinds. Some of the prizes will be handmade items and some will be supplies for hand making items. That’s where I come in.

For my giveaway, I’m offering a parcel of patterns. Three lucky winners will receive a copy of each of the PDF patterns shown below. That’s a crazy lot and who has time for that much sewing? I don’t know.

doll sleepover set eclutch middle school mess

patch tote patch bib and burp the secretary

How to enter… Just leave a comment telling me who inspired your creativity or inspires your creativity now. I’d love to hear your story. I’ll choose the winners with random.org.

colvins granny

My grandmothers kindled the creative flame in me. My mom’s mom, Audrey, had eight children and I’m sure she made all of the dresses on my mom (the oldest) and her sisters in that picture. She may have made her own as well. I’ll always remember the layette that Grandma sewed for my mom when my baby brother was born. It was so beautiful and delicate. She was a garment and craft sewer. My dad’s mom, Nezelene, on the right, was a quilter. We called her Granny in her later years. She was so brave and generous in her quilting. She wasn’t a perfectionist. The quilts weren’t art, they were to be used. I have so many quilts hand stitched by Granny. I love them all. Both of my Grandmas have passed away. I miss them and always will. But, I have their legacy here in my home. They will not be forgotten.

This giveaway will be closed at 8:00 pm EST on Friday, May 10th. Make your comment below and I’ll announce the winners by Sunday afternoon. Be sure to leave your email address in your comment so I can reach you if you win.

Well, I think that’s it. Good luck. Don’t forget to visit Sew Mama Sew to find links to other giveaways.

172 thoughts on “Sew Mama Sew giveaway! and remembering.

  1. My mother was always working on a craft project and taught me to sew, knit and embroider. Now I am passing on those skills to my daughter.

  2. My grandmother was always crocheting and inspired me to start on small projects when I was a child that has developed into a full on crafting addiction- any craft at all

  3. There aren’t many creative people in my family. I tend to be inspired through art, life, reading, music, etc. the7thsphere (at) gmail (dot) com

  4. My mother got me started crocheting when I was young. She use to do all the sewing too. She still inspires me today. Now she paints sumi-e. It is just amazing to watch her paint.

  5. What inspires me the most if reading great blogs. There are so many creative people out there who love to share.

  6. Thank you for sharing the story and the lovely photos. I’ve been inspired by my Australian cousins, I kept admiring quilts they made until one day, less than 3 years ago, I decide to give sewing and quilting a try.

  7. My sons inspire me the most, but I also love knowing when I sew, and especially when I quilt, that I’m expressing my creativity the same way my Grandmas and Great-Grandmas did!
    One of my most treasured items is a few of my Great-Grandmas UFOs I inherited! Someday ill finish them in special ways 🙂

  8. My mum, she’s always been creative. She sewed a lot of our clothing as kids, she quilts now. She’s also done folk art, painting, beading/jewellery making, tile mosaics… all sorts of things.

  9. It was my great aunt who inspired me to be creative and showed me that I don’t have to limit that creativity.

  10. My artistic talents came from my dad, but my mother wasn’t much of a sewer. I was smitten by a trip around the world quilt that my grandmother had made when I was growing up. I asked if she could make me one, but she never did and nor did she teach me. After she died, My aunt got her quilt in an inheritance and when she got it dry cleaned, they “LOST” the quilt! My guess is that they felted it since my grandmother carded her own wool. Anyway I saw the same pattern in a magazine by the time I was in my 20’s and thought how hard could this be? Well little did I know about fabrics and I had bought knits, cordoroy, blends and cottons. It was before rotary cutters and I cut each by hand. It was a nightmare going together so it got tossed by the wayside. By the time I was in my 30’s we moved over seas via the military. I ran across a gal in Germany who made awesome quilts. I was an artist and had painted an elaborate scene on a trunk and she loved it so we made a trade. I had run across another guy who did woodworking and he made me a 4 poster bed to match my bedroom suite, but the stipulation was he had gotten the quilt in the trade! Sad as it may have seemed, the gal that did the original quilt was having some lessons offered, so, with the obstacle of events, I finally learned to quilt!!! Since then I have won in many quilt shows and now I professionally machine quilt for others.

  11. My mum inspired my creativity in a round about way. Shes good at everything from flower arranging to knitting and making wedding cakes. Growing up we didn’t get to spend much time together being crafty so I’ve always had this unscratched itch. I’ve trief a few things myself (card making, jewellry, crochet) but finally found my passion in sewing. Its led me to such a great online community as well.

    • Congrats Claire, you are one of my winners. I need your email address so that I can email the patterns to you. Thanks!

Leave a reply.

